Home > Computers and Internet > NetBook finally free’s me up

NetBook finally free’s me up

So I finally decided to get a Netbook.
 
After spending a good deal of money not too long back on an all-singing and dancing 17" laptop with Blu-Ray and 4GB RAM etc, I now find I can’t use it.
 
Is it because it’s too slow? No.
Is it becuase it’s too big to carry in the bag to work? No, (well it is *quite* big)
Is it because the kids always monopolise *my* laptop to the point now where I never actually get to use it myself?….
 
What do you think?!!
I’m all for the kids being into IT and getting into the web, but this has put a dent in dad’s surftime, and working at home.
 
Solution: Samsung NC10 netbook for £200.
Cheap and cheerfull, but, hey, these are great little Netbooks.
 
First job was of course to ditch WinXP in favour of Windows 7 Ultimate (well someone like me can’t be seen with such old tech, and my street cred would not be good in my Windows 7 classes like this week!)
 
This is not as straight-forward as it sounds as there’s no DVD drive of course, but MagicISO mounting a virtual DVD drive lets you open an ISO and install direct from it from the HDD. Simples 🙂
 
Office 2010 RTM on there, and hey, we’re up and running.
 
So, there should be more blogging from me from now on!
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

